Scientific Advisory Board

The role of the Scientific Advisory Board (SAB) will be to evaluate the scientific progress, new developments, and suggest changes in the scope and direction of the research activities when necessary. The SAB will also advise on policies and trends in health care management and economics, science, and technology related to cancer imaging and in related fields. It will be composed of international scientists and leading physicians external to ITP and SIP, who represent excellence in research in medical imaging, healthcare management and industry. This committee will be composed of 6-10 physicians and scientists with a broad range of expertise, which is required to evaluate scientific progress, present new developments, challenge the directors and suggest changes in the scope and direction of the research activities of the ITP and SIP.



Norman Achen

National Cancer Institute of Canada (lay member), Retired from the Royal Bank of Canada

John Boone

Professor and Vice Chair, Department of Radiology and Biomedical Engineering, Davis College of Engineering, University of California

Lawrence Crum

Principal Physicist and Research Professor, Electrical Engineering and Bioengineering, Center for Industrial and Medical Ultrasound Applied Physics Laboratory, University of Washington

Janet Dancey

Director, Clinical Translational Research, NCIC Clinical Trials Group; Program Leader, High Impact Clinical Trials, Ontario Institute for Cancer Research (OICR); Professor, Department of Oncology, Queens University; Chair, Experimental Therapeutics Network, Cancer Care Ontario (CCO)

Jeffrey Evelhoch

Vice President and Head of Imaging, Merck Research Laboratories

Nicole Onetto

Deputy Director, Chief Scientific Officer, Ontario Institute for Cancer Research

Norbert Pelc, MD

Associate Chair, Professor, Department of Diagnostic Radiology, Stanford University School of Medicine

Bruce Pike

Researcher, Montreal Neurological Institute, Director, McConnell Brain Imaging Centre, Professor, McGill University

Etta Pisano, MD

Vice President for Medical Affairs and Dean of the College of Medicine at the Medical University of South Carolina

Martin G. Pomper, MD

Department of Radiology, Johns Hopkins, Division of Neuroradiology

Tim Salcudean

Canada Research Chair, Biomedical Engineering, University of British Columbia

Mitch Schnall, MD, PhD

Professor of Research Radiology and Associate Chair of Research, Department of Radiology, Co-Director, Small Animal Imaging Facility, Radiologist, Abramson Cancer Centre, University of Pennsylvania School of Medicine

Annick Van den Abeele, MD

Chief, Department of Radiology, Dana-Farber Cancer Institute; Associate Professor of Radiology, Harvard Medical School

James Zagzebski

Professor and Chair, Medical Physics, University of Wisconsin


Public Attachments: